We only provide OBDII services for vehicles 1996 and newer. Safety only vehicles for diesel and automobiles 1983 and older. We are not equipped to do ASM inspections on 1984-1995 automobiles. Although, we are able to repair these vehicles if they did not pass their ASM inspection. This page is designed to give you some basic information and answer the most common questions associated with State Inspections. If you don’t find the answer to your questions here, more detailed information is available from the Texas Department of Public Safety website or by calling Vehicle Inspection Services at 214-861-2400.
State Safety Inspection checklist:
· Check for broken or burned out turn signals, brake lights, tail Lights, license plate light and reflectors
· Check for missing or broken gas cap & seal
· Check operation and condition of seat belts
· Check parking brake function (does it holds the car)
· Window Tint (1988 or newer only, check too dark/below AS1 line on front windshield)
· Rear view mirror
· Interior high beam indicator, high beam switch, turn signal indicators
· Check wiper blade condition and operation
· EGR, TAC, PCV components (present/working)
· Check operation and condition of power steering and power brakes
· Check EVAP canister and air pump
· Check operation and condition of headlights
· Exhaust System (including manifold, check for leaks, proper hangers)
· Check catalytic converter function (1984 or newer)
· Check tires (rim condition, tire condition, minimum tire tread, all lug nuts, splits/cracks)
· You must present proof of insurance at the time of inspection
· During the driving portion of the State Inspection Test, the vehicle will be checked for steering slack or binding, horn operation, brake stopping distance and parking brake function
Emissions Inspection checklist:
· Vehicles must be 2 to 24 years old and be gasoline powered
· Vehicles built in 1995 or before must pass the ASM emissions test
· Vehicles built in 1996 or later must pass the OBDII emissions test
· Valid proof of insurance is required per state law.
· Inspection fee is payable on pass or fail per state law.
· Once an inspection has begun, it must be completed per state law.
· Out of state requires a “green” sheet for an additional $1 to license vehicle in Texas.
· State inspection fee varies from $7.00 to $25.50 for automobiles. Diesels as well as cars newer than 2 years old are $7.00.
Frequently Asked Questions
Question: What happens if my vehicle fails the state inspection?
Answer: Whether your vehicle passes or fails the state inspection, state law requires that you pay the inspection fee. You will have 15 days from the date of the failure to get your car re-inspected at the same location for no charge. You will receive one free re-inspection only. If your vehicle passes, you will be given the sticker at no charge (be sure to save the rejection receipt you received when your vehicle failed). The vehicle will be completely re-inspected. If the vehicle fails a second time, you will have to pay the state fee the next time you try to get it inspected.
Question: Can I make an appointment for a state inspection?
Answer: No. We are not allowed to take appointments for state inspections. State Inspections are performed on a first come, first served basis. During certain periods of the month, there may be a lengthy wait for state inspections. Generally, try to avoid the first and last 6 days of the month. Make sure you have a current insurance card to save time. We cannot call your insurance agent or receive faxes of your insurance card.
We are an independent service facility which specializes in the service and repair of Honda and Acura automobiles.
We are not associated in any way with American Honda Motor Company or any of its franchised dealerships